Office
(9 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
FREE Website Consultation
(call anytime)

Password Protecting Directories

Password Protect Directories Icon You can protect directories within your site from browsers by using a password to protect them. This allows you to restrict material to only authorized users or store sensitive material online. This has the same appearance and effect as the password protection on CPanel.

To password protect a directory:

1. Click on the Password protect directories button on the home page.
2. Navigate to the directory that you want to protect. Select a folder by clicking on the folder name link, or open a folder by clicking on the folder icon.
3. Click on the tick box next to the Lock Directory Icon icon.
4. Enter the name that you want to appear in the Protected Resource Name field. This is optional and purely for the user's benefit.
5. Click on the Save button. Generally, you now need to add at least one authorized user to enable access to the directory. Refer to Adding an authorized user for more information.

Adding an authorized user

You can control who can access protected directories by adding authorized users. Generally, at least one authorized user needs to be added, otherwise no-one will not be able to view the directory.

To add or modify an authorized user:

1. Click on the Password protect directories button on the home page.
2. Navigate to the required directory. Select a folder by clicking on the folder name link. Open a folder by clicking on the folder icon.
3. Enter the user's name in the Username field, and their password in the Password field.
4. Click on the Add New User button.

Changing an authorized user's password

You need to change authorized user's password if they have forgotten their password or they think someone has access to their account. It is a good idea to regularly change passwords.

To change an authorized user's password:

1. Click on the Password protect directories button on the home page.
2. Navigate to the required directory. Select a folder by clicking on the folder name link. Open a folder by clicking on the folder icon.
3. Enter the user's name in the Username field, and their new password in the Password field.
4. Click on the Change Password button.

Removing an authorized user

Remove authorized users when they no longer should have access to a particular directory. This maintenance task is often forgotten and leaves a hole in your security, so remember to perform this procedure as soon as it is required.

To remove an authorized user:

1. Click on the Password protect directories button on the home page.
2. Navigate to the required directory. Select a folder by clicking on the folder name link. Open a folder by clicking on the folder icon.
3. Select the required user in the Active Users list.
4. Click on the Delete User button.

Removing password protection

Remove password protection on a directory when you no longer want other users to have access to that directory. You do not need to remove user authorization for the directory when removing password protection, as all the users will be automatically deleted when you remove the protection.

To remove password protection from a directory:

1. Click on the Password protect directories button on the home page.
2. Navigate to the protected directory. Select a folder by clicking on the folder name link. Open a folder by clicking on the folder icon.
3. Untick the tick box next to the Lock Directory Icon icon.
4. Click on the Save button.

Free
Website Evaluation
Contact form submitted! We will be in touch soon.